Skip to main content
240 Marilyn Ave., Napanee, ON, K7R 2L4| Office: 613-354-9500| Staff Links
School Council

Mission Statementparent council.png

Each member of the J.J. O.Neill Catholic School Community Council (hereinafter referred to as Council) s​hall commit to the mission statementss of the Algonquin & Lakeshore Catholic District School Board.

The Algonquin & Lakeshore Catholic District School Board Mission Statement:

"As followers of Christ, our mission within our school system, in partnership with the Catholic community, is to serve one another in the development of each person as a caring and contributing member of society."

School Council

Chair​Ray Callery
Secretary​Laura Clair
Treasurer​Michelle Hannah /Melissa Cassibo
Teacher Rep​Cathy Hobin
Principal​Tammy Hulton
Vice Principal​Heather Healey
Parish Rep.​Jillian Perreault
​Kinder Rep.​Erin Brown
​Primary Rep.​Ashley Baldwin
​Junior Rep.​Aileen French
​Intermediate Rep.​Christine Roth


 September 2017 - Parent Council JJ.pdf

Minutes from Parent Council Meeting - October 19, 2017.pdf

parent council meeting Dec 12, 2017 .pdf.docx

School Council Jan24.pdf

Parent Council Mtg Feb 21st.pdf

Parent Council Minutes:March 21, 2018 @ 5:30p.m.


In Attendance: Heather H, Ray C, Christine R, Beth C, Ashley B, Laura C, Michelle H, Melissa C, Jessica, Beth C, Laura, Tammy H (near end)

 Opening Prayer @ 5:35p.m. No additions to agenda. No presentations.

Adoption of prev mins. Summary: 4 buckets for fundraising money to be divided into by % (50% for tech, 30% for outdoor/sports, 10% classrm/trips, 10% grad/sacraments)

 Treasurer Report: currently ~$9700 in acct, have recently purchased 1 more tech tub, also some hockey/soccer nets.

Important to let parents know where $ going from hot lunches.


Hot lunches going really well. Baseball tournament not going to happen this yr, not enough time. Try again next yr or possibly a volleyball tourn next yr.


Fun Fair: set for Thurs. May 24th 4:30-7:30 (will move indoors if inclement weather)

Proposal with all plans will need to be brought back to school/board for approval

            Plans so far include:

            -Silent Auction/possible basket raffles (maybe divisional not each class)

            -Vendor booths (tupperware,etc.)

            -Beaver/Sparks with car race track, face painting

            -Total Aquatics (info booth)

            -Firehall/Ambulance(?) safety lessons

            -possibly Katie's Critters (farm animals)

            -balloon animals, glitter tattoos, grade 7/8 painting nails

            -hockey shoot-out with Raiders

            -football/baseball throw

Lots of variety for all ages, no cost to participate, bring non-perishable food item (?)

Charge for BBQ (hot dogs/hamb, juice boxes, water), cotton candy, popcorn sold by Davison's class, possible cakewalk

Passport of some sort for kids to get stamped at various games, earn themselves a freezie at end.

Teacher/student sign up sheet will go up, Tammy needs to send out general info letter soon.

Will look into license for raffle, organizers also need charitable #.

 Church/School Music: Mr Kennedy will work on recording songs with students interested over next while. Unable to sell c.ds due to song rights.

 Principal/VP report: see attached

Highlights - Lion King was huge success, some unexpected costs, don't have final cost/profit (?)

            -Senior girls basketball board champions, great support from community, girls played hard

            -Kindergarten registration, #s bit down, spread the word, start doing staffing #s now

Tammy mentioned backpack campaign lttr sent around by St. George's in Kingston..

 $400 float money approved for use by fun fair organizers.

 Adjournment @7:00pm Next meeting set for May 30th @ 5:30p.m.

Principal's Report

J.J. School Council

Wednesday February 21st

SIPSAW goals

  • School, board and provincial goals surrounding mathematics – Special Assignment teacher Amy Cuthbert Brown will join JJ for her 3rd block of time in April
  • SIPSAW Board in Learning Commons – documenting our journey
  • School focus Math and Literacy, moving students beyond level 2 and 3 – OFIP Tutoring project for grade 3 and 6 starting in April twice a week
  • CGE's – integration through month school themes – March is Forgiveness and April is Justice.  School Wide larger focus is Together is Better – We are COLLABORATIVE CONTRIBUTORS

Upcoming Dates

  • Legion Presentation at 9:30 Friday March 23rd – student winners who were successful in district and further success in regionals.
  • Hydro Safety Presentation on Tuesday March 27 for grades 3-6
  • Wednesday March 28th – family Math Night 5:30-7:00
  • Thursday March 29th – Stations of the Cross K-2 @ 10:00 and grades 3-8 @ 11:00
  • Together is Better Assembly April 3rd at 9:30
  • Friday April 6th – Grade 7/8 Math Team competes at Queen's (Mrs. Perreault)
  • April 10th – resuming weekday mass participation
  • April 11th – IEP's go home
  • April 13th – PA day – Staff at HC all day
  • April 17th – Kidpreneur Exhibition in gym all day – grade 7-8
  • April 25th – Tech and Tinker Trailer at JJ – First of 3 visits
  • April 26th – JJ School Mass at the church 11:00
  • April 29th – First Communion at 12:00


School Updates

  • School Purchases since last meeting – 30 gym pinnies, one Tech Tub of Ipads (only one class remaining)
  • School Play – Huge Success
  • Basketball Champs – senior girls
  • Kindergarten registration